Where’s God When I’m Scared?

I love Veggie Tales. I’ll admit it. When I was a teenager, I used babysitting as an excuse to own each new VHS/DVD as it was released. One of the first videos released was Where’s God When I’m S-Scared? I still get songs from that episode in my head. Once, I even rewrote the lyrics to “God is Bigger” to say “God is bigger than my bank account” instead of the “than the boogie-man.”

As I mentioned in the post last week, I’m doing some “foolish” things lately. If I let myself dwell on them or the potential for them to cause pain or make a fool out of me, I get scared. Thankfully, I know the answer to the question that the Veggie Tales title asked. When I’m scared, God is right there with me – and He is bigger than what scares me.

Today, as I was thinking about God’s faithfulness in times when I’ve been scared before, I remembered one of the scarier times I had while living in Central Asia. I had just crossed the border back into Afghanistan after a visit to Uzbekistan. Normally, women did not travel alone, but for some reason or other, I was not met at the border on this occasion. I had to hire a taxi for the (normally) four-hour trip back to my town.

I didn’t speak the language fluently, but knew enough to tell the driver where I wanted to go and arrange a price. Once I was settled in the back seat and we were under way, the driver started talking. From what I understood, we would be taking a slight detour to pick up his son along the way.

Okay, no reason to panic there. We go through part of that town anyway, so we’ll just take a different route through the city… No big deal.

Once the son was in the car, we were off again. Then, the driver began to tell me of the need for another detour. Apparently, a bridge on the road had been washed out and we would have to find another way around to the village where I lived.

At that point, he left the road and started making his way through the desert. What should have taken another two hours turned into approximately six hours of driving through the desert with no road, no other cars, no phone signal to text my team that I was alive, or anything else.

I will admit that as the hours wore on, I began to get anxious. I spent some quality time talking to God on that drive, and I’m not sure I’ve ever been so happy to reach “home.” But God was with me. He didn’t take the day off, and He wasn’t swept away with the bridge.

That was true then, and it is still the case with the things that scare me today. I don’t know what seems scary to you today, but God is with you right there in the middle of it.

Leave a Reply

