Cease Striving…

I’m a day late with this post… I started to write a number of times yesterday, and the attempts covered four very diverse topics. As you can tell, none of them made it very far because nothing was posted. I fretted off and on throughout the day about being late with a post, and by the time I had to leave for a meeting, the page was once again blank.  

I had planned to try and get something written when I got home at nearly 11:00pm, but my brain was still swirling with too many potential topics and the happenings of the evening. It was after 12:00 when I gave up on the idea of getting something written before I went to bed. For the first time in months, I would just have to be late to post.

Last night, during the meeting, I started to think about one of my favorite verses in the Bible: Psalm 46:10. Many translations start the verse with, “Be still and know that I am God.”

It may seem crazy to say after calling that one of my favorite verses, but honestly, I don’t really like that. Maybe it’s just me, but I find those words an easy excuse to sit and do nothing while waiting for God to show up and do His thing. “Be still” paints a picture in my head of just sitting and twiddling my thumbs, but I am fairly certain that isn’t at all what is meant to be communicated by this verse.

In the NASB, the verse reads, “Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” That paints a completely different sort of picture in my head. It is not an excuse to sit idly by and wait on God to move. It speaks to my heart an invitation to be a part of what God is doing, and to do my work in His strength. Striving comes from trying to do things in our own strength, trying to control things ourselves instead of allowing Him to be God in our circumstances.

The other thing I love about Psalm 46:10, is that God WILL be glorified in the nations and on the earth. That is a certainty that doesn’t depend on my abilities or zeal. We are invited to be a part of seeing that happen, but it is as we “cease striving” and allow Him to work through us that His name is lifted high!

I was striving to write yesterday, and I got nowhere. Instead of settling my mind and asking Him to speak through me, I was determined to get words on the screen and fulfill my self-imposed duty to post on time. 

What are you striving to accomplish today? Maybe you need to stop and let Him guide you and empower you for the task ahead.

Leave a Reply

