Perspective

Perspective is an interesting thing. Charles R. Swindoll once said, “I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.” How we choose to see the situations we encounter can change our attitudes and actions like little else can.

For example, a couple of weeks ago, I was having a difficult time. Some old lies had crept into my mind again, and I had let them take up residence for a few days. When this happens, I find that the best way for me to deal with them is to burn them. As a verbal processor, I have to get things out of my head, but I don’t want them in my journal or somewhere they can stick around forever. So I write them on loose sheets of paper and reach for the matches. (This is always done in a safe place with water on hand in case the blaze gets out of control.) Once the lies are gone, I invite God to come and replace them with His truth (which goes in my journal).

So this particular morning, after days spent fighting with the rubbish in my mind and heart, I finally got some paper and listed all the things my mind and heart had been believing that I knew to be false. The list was lengthy and covered a wide range of topics about me, about God, about others, and about promises I feel like God has given me for the future. I felt free as I watched the paper burn, and I looked forward to hearing what God would say to replace the junk.

The journal would have to wait though. Almost as soon as the fire was out, I had to leave for a ministry where I volunteer occasionally. Just as I was getting ready to walk out the door, I got a call from someone already at the ministry. She was calling to let me know a man was there looking for me. He was expressing an interest in giving me a gift, and she knew the situation would make me uncomfortable. I thanked her for the call and tried to figure out how to handle the situation that awaited.

As I walked, though, I couldn’t help but laugh. One of the lies I had burned just before the phone call was that I am undesirable and unlovable, that no man will ever choose me or even be interested in me. While I don’t believe God made this guy “like” me or would put me in that situation to prove a point, I could just imagine Him laughing to Himself anyway. That picture of God having a laugh changed my view of the situation. Allowing Him to bring truth – that I could be found attractive – in the most unlikely of ways gave me a new perspective and allowed me to laugh right along with Him.

What uncomfortable situation do you find yourself in today? How might your perspective need to change? How might God use it to speak to you if you allow Him?

For those who are wondering, I was delayed along the way, and the man left mere moments before I arrived!

Leave a Reply

