The Sun IS Shining

A few years ago, I took an online assessment to learn what my top five strengths are according to Gallup. (For information on the specifics of “StrengthsFinder” click here.) One of the strengths I had was “Positivity.” At the time, I didn’t see it. When it comes to the labels of “optimist” or “pessimist,” I tend to be a “realist.” I have no problem seeing potential or probable difficulties ahead and planning accordingly.

However, over the last couple of years, I have realized that I am indeed a positive person. Even if I see a glass that is only one quarter full, I’d probably say at least there is something in there…

Just last week as I sat with a friend at a café on the beach, I exhibited this strength again. We were staring out the window at the cloudy skies, and my friend commented that the sun would not be shining that day. Without even thinking about it, I responded that the sun was still shining even if we couldn’t see it.

At the time it was just a simple comment, but as I tried to think of what to write about today, it came to mind again. There are things I’ve been praying about for months or even years, things I believe God has promised me, and I don’t see them yet. The clouds have yet to part and allow the light to shine into those particular areas of my life. That doesn’t mean the light isn’t there though.

One of my favorite musicians is Andrew Peterson, and he wrote a song called “Mountains on the Ocean Floor.” (See below). It talks about how growth can take place under the surface without us ever realizing it. It isn’t until the mountain breaks through the surface that we become aware of what has been happening in unseen places.

I don’t know what it is you find yourself waiting or hoping for today. Maybe there is a specific area of your life that looks hopeless. You’ve been watching for something to change, and maybe it looks like nothing is happening. Just know that under the surface or behind the clouds, things are happening. The sun is shining, and growth is happening.

One day breakthrough will come, and we will get to see what has been building just beyond where our eyes could see. Until then, we get to practice faith – “confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see” (Hebrews 11:1) “Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful” (Hebrews 10:23).

One thought on “The Sun IS Shining

  1. Thank you for the encouragement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

