Shattered Mirrors

Recently I’ve been thinking about a vision I saw while praying a couple of years ago. I’m not sure why, but I feel like now is the time to share it. I hope that it will speak to someone and bring blessing today.

I was struggling, as often seems to be the case, with feeling unworthy and insignificant. I know those feelings are never true, and as a way to fight them, I was asking God to show me how He sees me. I rarely get visions or pictures when I’m praying, but this time I did, and it wasn’t what I expected. Instead of seeing myself through God’s eyes, I found myself in the middle of hundreds of mirrors, all showing distorted images of me.

I’m not sure exactly how to describe the scene, but it was sort of like the “fun house” rooms in some films where there is a maze of mirrors, dim lighting, and flashes of light here and there. I was desperate to find the exit and see a true representation of myself instead of all of the distorted images I was being shown.

After what felt like ages of wandering thought this maze of mirrors, I became distraught and fell to my knees with my head bowed to the floor and covered with my arms. I was weeping and desperate to be set free from this nightmare.

Into that scene walked Jesus. He knelt beside me and covered my body with His. When I was covered, he spoke just two words, “It’s done.” As He said those words, every mirror shattered, and glass went flying everywhere.

When I looked up to thank Him, I couldn’t recognize Him. The shattered glass had torn His flesh, and He looked like He did following the portrayal of His torture and crucifixion in the film The Passion of the Christ.

In that picture, I saw what He thinks of me… and what He thinks of you! He thought we were valuable enough to step into our anguish, to cover our despair, and to destroy the lies and distorted images of ourselves that the Enemy would like us to live in bondage to – even if it cost Him everything.

If you’re struggling today with seeing yourself through God’s eyes, allow Him to come and break the distorted mirrors that Satan or others would hold up in front of you. You are created in the image of a loving God, who will show up and shatter the wrong perceptions you see. Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder, and He thinks you are gorgeous – worth more than you will ever be able to comprehend!

4 thoughts on “Shattered Mirrors

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love this Stephanie. Shed some painful tears and will recall this often when those distorted images of myself arise. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Shane David says:

    Beautiful Stephanie. You have blessed my heart today (as usual). Thank you!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

