Hope Found in a Jigsaw Puzzle

One of my favorite things to do when I have a couple of days with nothing pressing is get out a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle. Depending on the difficulty, I will often spend 2-3 days straight doing little besides eating, sleeping, and standing over the table, looking for where each piece fits. There is such a feeling of accomplishment when I see the whole picture completed.

When I visited my family in the USA last year, my mum bought me a puzzle to bring home as a Christmas gift. So, just after Christmas, when I knew I had some days free, I ripped off the plastic and excitedly started working on it. Sadly, though it was 1000 pieces, it proved relatively easy, and I had it completed in about 8 hours.

Once completed, it stayed on the table for a couple of weeks, waiting to be dismantled and put away. I’m not sure why it took me so long to put it away, but it’s good that it did. During the process of taking each piece apart, God spoke to me and brought hope to my heart.

I’ve been praying for the last number of weeks for breakthrough. As I’ve prayed, I’ve seen a person behind walls, enclosed in a small room in the middle of a beautiful garden. I’ve felt that the walls were built by the person for protection, but that they have become a prison instead, holding the person back from things God wants to give them.

Perhaps the person in the room could represent many of us; I know it could represent me. I imagine there are many of us afraid to step into the beautiful places God wants to take us. Even if we want to take that step, some of us have built such convincing walls, we believe we can never get beyond them.

The morning I began to dismantle my jigsaw puzzle, I had been lamenting how impressive the walls appeared to me, believing that breakthrough would take years, if the walls ever came down at all. Yet as I started to take apart the puzzle, piece by piece, a quiet voice whispered into my heart that the walls are no different than this puzzle. Within minutes, no two pieces were still connected, though it had taken me hours of work to put them together.

God used that moment to bring hope that it will not take countless years or months, perhaps not even weeks, to see walls fall. Even walls that have taken years to build can be brought down quickly with the right motivation and resources. Just as a house takes months to build but can be completely demolished in minutes, when we decide to bring down the walls, it doesn’t have to take a long time.

The walls may look impenetrable, but they are not. As I have continued to pray about this picture of the room, I have noticed that although the walls look like the walls of a fortress on the inside, the outside is simply drywall. A fist could break through the walls at any moment, but the inside has been painted to look formidable to those seeking their ‘protection.’

God loves building things, but He also loves tearing down things that stand in His way. He is the only resource we need to see breakthrough in the things holding us back from all that He has for us. His love, perspective and strength can bring down walls in no time.

The only thing stopping Him is us, those on the inside, afraid of what the beautiful garden might bring our way, or perhaps afraid that we can no longer escape our self-made prison of ‘protection.’ He will not break in uninvited.

Are you hiding behind walls, afraid of where God wants to bring you? Do you want out, but believe it will take years to break through into His best for you? Invite Him to help you demolish the walls and step into all that He longs to give you.

Leave a Reply

