My Word for 2016

Once again this year, I have prayed about and chosen one word that will define my goals and focus for the year. The word for 2016 is “GROWTH,” and I am excited to see how God will bring growth in various areas of my life throughout the next 12 month!

Along with the word for the year, I also pray and ask for a verse to focus on. It usually goes along with the word, and this year is no different. The verses I got for this year are found in Isaiah 54:2-3. “Enlarge the place of your tent, and let the curtains of your habitations be stretched out; do not hold back; lengthen your cords and strengthen your stakes. For you will spread abroad to the right and to the left, and your offspring will possess the nations and will people the desolate cities.”

As I prayed into what this verse means for me this year, I was reminded of the verse that God gave me before I moved to Ireland: Psalm 18:19 says, “He brought me out into a broad place; he rescued me, because he delighted in me.” I felt like God told me when I came here that He would plant me in a “broad place” where I would have room to grow. It seems that the time for that growth has come…

Over the last few days of processing this word with God (and with friends/family), it has become clear to me that in order to really grow or expand my dwelling here, I have to put down roots. I have been calling this place “home” for nearly two years, and I feel as though I’ve already settled here, but I feel like God is saying to take it a step further. At the moment, putting down roots means looking into opening a bank account in Ireland, and perhaps more significantly, beginning to gather information and start saving toward getting my license to drive in Ireland.

I have a feeling that as I put down these roots, however insignificant they seem to me, God is going to bring growth that I haven’t even imagined yet. I don’t know what my life will look like at the end of the year. I hope there will be ministry growth, with more opportunities to teach and even a published book! I believe there will be continued growth in relationships here, and I am excited to see what God does with the people He is connecting me with here. I hope there will be growth in the area of health (which oddly enough, will mean the opposite of growth in some things…)

My hopes and sense of expectancy for what God is going to do this year are high. I will admit that some of my hopes and dreams for this year are terrifying. They seem so big I don’t see how they can be possible, and yet, when I turn my focus back to the One holding those dreams, they seem pretty small after all. I’m sure there will be growing pains along the way, but I’m equally sure they will be worth it to see the promises of God fulfilled in my life for His glory.

Do you have a word for 2016? I’d love to know… Please share in the comments.

Leave a Reply

