I Lift My Eyes

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2

I’ve been thinking lately about prayer. More specifically, I’ve been thinking about where my focus is during prayer. Even as I wrote a couple of weeks ago about Peter walking on the water with Jesus, this thought crossed my mind. Peter lost sight of Jesus and started looking at the waves instead. How often do I do the same thing even in my prayer times?

Recently, I have noticed that my “prayers” sound more like complaints or worry voiced in God’s direction. I attempt to tell God how big my problems are instead of declaring over my problems how BIG my God is. Instead of lifting my eyes up to gaze on the God of the universe and remembering that He cares about me enough to bend His ear to my cries, I allow miniscule worries to drag me down and affect my attitudes about life, God, myself, and those around me. How easily I forget to keep my gaze fixed on the One who is infinitely greater than anything I might face, than any longing I might feel, than any sorrow that might threaten to overwhelm me!

“Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

I don’t know what you’re going through today. I know that my heart aches for my loved ones and that unknowns about the future threaten to drive me crazy. I also know, however, that God is able to do more than I can imagine and that He is for me. The days ahead may be uncertain, but His promises – and His ability to fulfill them – are not. Nor is His faithfulness to walk with me through whatever storm may lie ahead on my journey with Him. The same is true for you!

You might be staring at the spear of a giant today, holding tight to a little sling and some rocks. Know though, that like David when he faced Goliath, you can stand there with confidence, knowing that “the battle is the Lord’s.” (1 Samuel 17:47) When we see the giants we face in the light of who we are, they can be overwhelming to look at, but in the light of who God is, they are merely specks on the horizon of all that God has in store for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

As you pray today, don’t voice your worries toward heaven. Invite the God of the universe – the infinitely intimate One who loves you – into your circumstances to bring about His best in your life for His glory and your good.

One thought on “I Lift My Eyes

  1. Liz says:

    I love this song and this was just what I needed to read today! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

