Life Happens

At the beginning of the year, I made a decision that I was going to post on this blog weekly if at all possible. Here we are, not even two months in, and I have failed miserably. The last post was two days late, and now it has been two and a half weeks without a new one.

I could make all sorts of excuses. Truth be told, last week was the busiest I’ve had in months, and I ended up on antibiotics for sinus and chest infections. (Do you have any idea how hard it is to think straight, let alone write coherently when it feels like your brain is full of mucus? Sorry for those that just got the visual!) I feel like I’m now miles behind in everything I’m doing because of how last week went.

That’s life though. I could sit here moaning about how much I have to do, and how I’ve failed so terribly at one of my goals for the year. I could lament that my flat is a mess, and that I still don’t have the energy or motivation to accomplish everything that needs to happen.

OR I can give myself grace, and do what I can. Instead of wasting the energy I do have by moaning that I don’t have more, I can use it to get a little bit done at a time. I can take a nap when necessary, and then get back to work. Eventually, I will catch up on the tasks. And eventually, life will get in the way again.

“Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” – Murphy’s law

I don’t know who Murphy was, but his law seems to hold true sometimes, most often at those times when life seems the craziest, when you really don’t have time to hang out with Mr. Murphy or his law. And yet, life goes on. We make it through the craziness, dig out from under all that is dumped on us, and reach a place where we can breath freely again, figuratively (and in some cases literally too)!

I’m tired. I don’t know how much I’ll get done today, but it’s still going to be a good day, a productive day even. Blog post, newsletter, writing assignments, cleaning, preparing to teach youth, etc. It will all get done. Maybe today, maybe tomorrow, maybe next week.

Life happens all the time. It’s good, it’s hard, some might say it’s bad. I hope that whatever it looks like I remember to give grace – to myself and others. I hope I can wave at Murphy and smile when his law throws a wrench in my plans. I hope I can remember that my failures, big or small, don’t equal the end of the world, and that life will continue to happen regardless of my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

