A Fabulous Weekend!

Just an update for those who want to know how my birthday was… I had an awesome weekend!

My parents surprised me by sharing the mailing address with some friends so that they could send cards as well. As a result, when I went to check the mail I found not only the 3-4 cards I knew would be waiting, but 6 others!

Many friends sent greetings via Facebook, and I was able to talk to my parents and grandparents.

A highlight that may seem odd, is that I finally took the time to mostly unpack my suitcases. For the first time in nearly 5 months, I don’t have to dig through a suitcase to get ready in the morning! I didn’t realize just how exciting that would be.

Friday evening, I took myself out for dinner and a show. It is truly hard to beat Caesar salad and pizza. Add a show put on by the Irish National Clown Orchestra, and you’ve got a brilliant evening. πŸ™‚

Oh, and I should mention another thing. I had been asking God in the weeks leading up to my birthday to show me that I am not completely undesirable. While I am grateful that I don’t typically attract weird guys, I’ve been wondering of late if I would ever attract ANY guy, or if there is something about me which is wholly unattractive to the opposite sex.

As I was walking to dinner Friday night, a guy smoking a cigarette outside a bar tried to talk to me. While I didn’t stop to chat, the interaction that occurred as I walked by left me with a huge smile for the rest of the night. It may sound strange, but that short conversation seemed like a gift from God, just what I needed to assure me that one day someone else will be interested and attracted enough to speak up. πŸ™‚

Saturday was also a great day. I got to see the first film I’ve seen in the cinema since leaving the States: “How to Train Your Dragon 2”. I was so excited to see it, and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. πŸ™‚

Upon leaving the theater, I received a voicemail that there was a very promising housing option coming available in 2 weeks! Finally, on Sunday I was able to connect with the lady regarding the details, and it sounds like this place is PERFECT! (I’ll provide more details once I’ve seen it, and it’s official that I’ve found a home here.)

Over all, the weekend was filled with fun, excitement, surprises, and smiles. I have such a feeling of anticipation for the future as God continues to open doors and surprise me with His favor.

Leave a Reply

