A New Book…

Wow, it has been too long since I’ve written here. Life has gotten slightly crazy the past couple of weeks with moving out of my house, last-minute gatherings, shopping, and packing for the big move!

I am happy to report that I have continued to set aside my time with God to listen to Him each day no matter how busy the days have gotten. I have begun to cherish this time, and I am enjoying both the confirmations of things I already know and the unexpected things that He is speaking.

Early this week, He surprised me with the words He spoke. Sunday morning, as I sat for the last time in my room, surrounded by stuff ready to be whisked away to new homes, God spoke of new beginnings. That topic in itself didn’t surprise me because I have known for some time that a new chapter was coming. The part that startled me is that I am beginning a new book…

God knows how to speak to me in a way I will understand, and so of course, He referenced Lord of the Rings. He said that though my story is far from over, I am at the beginning of more than just a new chapter; it is a new book. I am entering a part of the story removed from what has come previously in the way that The Two Towers is separated from The Fellowship of the Ring. Many – though not all – of the characters are the same, the story continues, and yet I cannot just flip a page and go back to where I was before.

During my last Sunday at church, the sermon was on leaving behind one chapter of life and being fully in the new. The speaker talked about the danger of trying to keep one foot in the old life when trying to begin anew somewhere else. It was a timely message for me, and I see the same caution in this word that God spoke recently. The characters in Lord of the Rings were never able to go backward in their story. Even when they went back to the physical location where the story began, they had changed and could not go back to the way it was before they left on their grand adventure. Some were able to adapt and find new ways to relate to their old environment, some found new homes and never returned to where they started, and some tried to go home and ended up leaving again because they could not adjust back into the old life.

I have been processing this week that whatever happens in this new book, however the locations and cast of characters change, life will never be the same. A new day has dawned, and it will change me in ways I don’t know yet. I may live here in Colorado Springs again, and I may not. I may stay in Ireland, or go somewhere else I’ve not yet dreamed of. Wherever I end up, the dawn has come. I am beginning to see glimpses of the day to come, and I so am excited to move forward into this new season! The winter is past, and I am expectant, anxiously awaiting the new growth, life and beauty that Spring will bring my way!

One thought on “A New Book…

  1. […] the weekend, however, I began to let the reality sink in, that in order to enter the new book I wrote about before, I must close the one I’ve been living. I spent a short time with my […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

