The 30 Day Hustle

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I was a part of a group working toward achieving goals during the first 30 days of January. Well, we have reached the end of this period, and it is time to evaluate the effectiveness of my “hustle”.

My goals were to post to this site 10 times, and to lose at least one dress size. This is blog post #10 for the 30 days, and therefore I met that goal! Woohoo!

In retrospect, the second goal is a bit difficult to measure. The clothes I own were already beginning to feel too big, and so going down one size from there is cheating a bit. However, since I am the one evaluating, I have decided that this goal was also met. By choosing better food options (most of the time) and working out most days since my workout DVD arrived on the 7th, I now fit back into a dress I haven’t worn in nearly 4.5 years, AND it fits better now than it did when I wore it then!

The workout I started is called T-Tapp, and there are several options with it. The one I opted for during the last 3.5 weeks – is the basic workout. This one takes 23 minutes to do the instructional video, and then only 15 minutes once you move to just the workout. I decided that 15 minutes a day was doable, but I will admit that I was a bit skeptical about how much benefit I would get from that effort.

So, in the past 24 days, I’ve done the basic workout 20 times and tried to eat healthy foods, though I did cheat on my food choices several times. (I would blame that on the stress and busyness of moving, but in reality, I simply could no longer suppress my craving for Taco Bell, fries and a peanut butter milkshake.) 🙂

The woman who developed this program recommends taking 14 measurements (waist, hips, legs, arms, etc.) before beginning and then measuring again each week. So, as of this morning I have lost a total of 35.5 inches! That didn’t equal any weight loss, but I’m okay with that. As my body continues to build muscle and lose fat, the pounds will eventually come off too. For now, I’m going to enjoy gaining muscle tissue in place of the fat tissue I’ve allowed to remain for far too long! 🙂

So, to finish off a successful month of hustling, I think I’ll go sit down and figure out some goals for next month and the year to come. There are good things ahead!

Leave a Reply

