Goals & Deliciousness

This past week I stumbled into a group of people committed to achieving measurable goals with the help of one another during the month of January. The invitation was given for adventurers, no information about the adventure, just a chance to sign up… How could I not? Turns out the adventure is to accomplish things with daily tasks emailed to move us toward the goals we set.

And so, during this month, I will be working toward 2 goals for my “hustle”. The first is to write 10 posts on this site. You’re currently reading the second for the month. The rest will (I hope) be quite easy since I have ideas for all but one of the posts. Also, with 50 days until I leave my Colorado home for another indefinitely, I’m sure there will be no lack of topics to write about! πŸ™‚

The second goal is slightly more tricky. I am going to lose at least one dress size by the end of the month. I have ordered a new work out DVD that should arrive this week, and I anticipate doing that 6 days/week once it arrives. So far, though, the major change I have made is in how I’m eating most days. As part of this 30 day “hustle”, I am trying to eat only whole, unprocessed foods 6 days a week. Thankfully, I’m a fan of fruits and veggies, and I’m also a decent cook who doesn’t mind experimenting in the kitchen.

The thing I am NOT good at when it comes to cooking is following directions. This is why I don’t bake. – I find that following the recipe is rather important in baking. My view of recipes is best summed up in a line from “Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl” when Captain Barbossa informs Elizabeth that the pirates’ code is “more what you’d call guidelines than actual rules.” In fact, my roommate is convinced I have not cooked unless I’ve tweaked the recipe at least a little bit.

Last night, I decided to try an experiment with new things. I’ve never cooked much with lentils, but I like them a lot. I didn’t have a recipe, and so I made one up with the things I had in the pantry. Unfortunately, I can’t really share it with you because I don’t measure things. I can tell you what went into the pot, though… Dried lentils, brown rice, diced tomatoes, garlic, yellow squash, zucchini, baby bella mushrooms, low-sodium V8 juice, water, salt, black pepper, paprika, cumin and Italian seasonings. (If you want amounts, I can help, but only if you’re willing to be very imprecise and kind of figure it out yourself to a point – especially with the spices.)

I often get laughed at by my roommates because of how much I appreciate the food I make, (and how much I make at once – though they don’t complain when I share). πŸ™‚ I have been known to get excited at breakfast time about dinner if I know it’s something I like making/eating… even if it’s leftovers! I tend to really enjoy most of the stuff I make. (Why wouldn’t I, since I know to leave out nasty things like onions…?) I have to say, though, last night’s experiment is currently near the top of my favorites list! Which is a good thing since I will likely be eating it for the rest of the week. πŸ™‚

And so, it seems that eating mostly unprocessed foods won’t be so difficult after all. Hopefully, as I begin the more active portion of the work, I will enjoy that too.

Until next time… Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Goals & Deliciousness

  1. Barbara Tripp says:

    Good luck and God bless on your goals. I know you can do it. The recipe sounds awesome!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

