Stories & Fandoms

Last night was awesome! Hanging out with my roommates, a delicious dinner of corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, carrots, & bread, Tollhouse pie with ice cream, “sonic screwdrivers”, and BBC America airing “The Day of the Doctor” and other shows… (A huge “thank you” goes to my parents for letting us crash at their house and use their cable television to experience this worldwide event!)

As I looked at Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook, and even the increase in traffic on this blog today, I realized again just how fun it is to be part of a “fandom” – a global community united around a common interest. In the case of us Whovians, we may disagree about favorite Doctors and companions, whether Rose or River is really the Doctor’s true love, and which of the monsters is the creepiest, but we are all still Whovians. We remain part of the global community, and we are at least a little invested in the story. (Perhaps some of us more than others.) Many of us are passionate about our love for the Doctor and want to share his story with others every chance we get, (and there is a great sense of victory when we manage to bring another person into the fandom).

This isn’t limited to Whovians either. Others fandoms are built around the stories of Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Sherlock, Narnia, Merlin, Atlantis, the Hunger Games, etc. (There are many others, but these are a few of the ones I am currently a part of…)
There is another fandom, though, that I am a part of, and yet too often I lack the excitement about it that I feel for the others. I get swept up in these epic tales and forget that the reason I love them so much is that they speak to me of His story (and my part in it). The most epic story of all is that of God and His love for us. Everything the human heart longs for – beauty, adventure, romance, significance, and much more – can be found in that story!

Yesterday, the world celebrated the 50th anniversary of a television show, making news globally in celebration of a fictional story (albeit a great one). I began to wonder this afternoon how many people would tune in to a global simulcast celebrating the 2000+ year old story of Christ. Christendom is in many ways a fandom. We may disagree about details here and there, but we are all still a part of a global family united by this story that began before time did – the story of the true Lord of time. 🙂

The question I am asking myself today is: why don’t I anticipate the next “episode” of His story the way I anticipated “The Day of the Doctor” over the last 6 months? Do I get as excited when I see God doing something in a neighbor’s life as I do about seeing a new adventure involving the Doctor? Do I try to share my passion for the object of my beliefs as enthusiastically as I share quotes or stories from a favorite episode of Merlin or Atlantis? Do I feel the thrill of gaining a new brother or sister in Christ as much as I enjoy bringing someone into a fandom centered on a fictional story?

Stories….  They awaken dreams, fears and courage; they bring together people from every culture, generation, class, race, etc. Some of them give meaning to events in our lives in a way that nothing else can. They draw us in, teach us, touch us, and move us.  For me, the true power of stories is captured in a quote from G. K. Chesterton, “Fairy tales are more than true — not because they tell us dragons exist, but because they tell us dragons can be beaten,” – as quoted in Coraline (2004) by Neil Gaiman.

What might happen in the world if we began to share our stories with each other, as passionately as we share our favorite episodes? I know that “dragons” can be beaten because I have seen God defeat the dragons of insignificance, inferiority, and worthlessness in my own life. How might the world be different if others in this global family began to believe those same dragons could be defeated in their lives? How many new members would join the “fandom” of Christ if they connected to that story and realized the truth it contains?

I am, and always will be, a fan of Doctor Who (among many other things). But first and foremost, I am a fan and follower of Christ, one who strives to be a part of His family around the world. His story is the source of all of the truth we find in the other stories we love. We love them, because whether we realize it or not, they point to him! His story is the one that includes each of us, and our stories have meaning, beauty, adventure, and romance because of HIM. After all, “we’re all stories, in the end. Just make it a good one, eh?”

Leave a Reply

