Fire!

I am extremely excited about the coming of the 23rd of November! Many won’t understand my excitement,  but a few die-hard Whovians out there may already know the reason and feel the anticipation with me… The Day of the Doctor is coming! After a six month absence, Matt Smith, (along with David Tennant, John Hurt, and others) will try to  save the universe once again.

Now is not the time to discuss my love of Doctor Who, and I will likely never attempt the impossible feat of trying to explain the show to those readers that aren’t familiar with it. The reason I brought it up tonight is that the trailer for the coming episode is the source of a quote that struck me today:

“Great men are forged in fire.  It is the privilege of lesser men to light the flame.”

As I heard these words, I thought immediately of the purifying work of fire. Precious metals are put through fire to bring impurities to the surface so they can be taken out. If we want to be great men & women, we must surrender to the Refiner’s Fire and be cleansed of anything less than His standard of purity.

While it is true that God is a Consuming Fire as it says in Hebrews, I find that He often uses other people to increase the temperature. I would not refer to others as “lesser men”, but it is true that friends, family, co-workers, etc. often “light the flame” in my life. There is nothing that brings my imperfections to the surface faster than those of others. The question is whether or not I will allow God to remove those things from my life when they surface.

I want to be a great woman of God and impact this world for Him. In order for that to happen, I must be willing to face the Fire and let Him do His work in me. I must also embrace the men and women in my life that “light the flame” and even thank God for them – and realize that I am most likely a match in their lives at times too.

2 thoughts on “Fire!

  1. Al says:

    I was watching the show and when I heard John Hurt utter this phrase I immediately stopped and replayed it and wrote it down. What powerful words. Your interpretation is moving and complete. Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

